2009 Bike MS Ride

I had an amazing ride over this past weekend in Mt. Vernon and cannot thank you enough for your support – both with your pocket books (I raised over $1100!) and your love. I rode with my bestie, Clint, and around mile marker 86 of day one he mentioned that he was mentally running through his list of supporters to make it the next six miles… I was counting your blessings at mile marker 30! ; )

I really could not have made it 141 miles over the weekend without you all. There was a moment (a LONG moment) the morning of day two that I really didn’t want to ride. But you did it, so I did it – and it turned out that I completely had a blast. Of all my bikey interests, these long rides are nearing the top as my favorite activity. We had amazing support (the Hell’s Angels brought me a new tube when I blew a tire) and our team captain, Cassandra Haavisto, made it super easy for us to get up there and take care of us for our ride.

Enjoy some photos of the weekend, and look forward to a sponsor thank you party (at our new house) on October 10th (invites to come soon).

1_BikeMS

Team Bikin' & Smylin' for MS

Team captain Cass in fine form WHILe putting up with the boys

Team captain Cass in fine form WHILe putting up with the boys

The route led to this amazing ped/bike path across the harbor and along the shoreline

The route led to this amazing ped/bike path across the harbor and along the shoreline

No time for stopping, though

No time for stopping, though

The terrain got rough at the halfway point on Whidbey Island

The terrain got rough at the halfway point on Whidbey Island

But we conquered

But we conquered

Deception Pass

Deception Pass

After warming up, day two was amazing, and the 49 miles flew by

After warming up, day two was amazing, and the 49 miles flew by

I took the rest stops seriously

I took the rest stops seriously

We stuck with this paceline for most of the afternoon until some yahoo screamed at us from the side of the road. The line broke up when the four "dudes" broke up to investigate (drama on the Bike MS ride!)

We stuck with this paceline for most of the afternoon until some yahoo screamed at us from the side of the road. The line broke up when the four "dudes" broke up to investigate (drama on the Bike MS ride!)

We won!

We won!

We found a lovely little brewing company in Olympia to celebrate

We found a lovely little brewing company in Olympia to celebrate

Cheers to the 2009 Bike MS ride

Cheers to the 2009 Bike MS ride

Again, thank you, thank you, thank you for your support.

About this entry