4th of July in Montana

Late in coming, but wanted to show off some photos of our weekend in Montana. We had an amazing, relaxing, sun-filled holiday with family on Flathead Lake over the Fourth of July. Extended, too, because we got an extra day at the lake by driving all night to get there.

We had planned on stopping along the way up and at best get to my aunt and uncles at noon on Thursday, and I was feeling awfully tired around midnight as we passed through Coeur d’Alene, but getting cut off by a drunk driver on I-90 and a phone call with the Idaho State Highway Patrol got me amped to drive the whole way (and slowly from St. Regis, as the first mile we saw an elk on the side of the road).

Made it for the sunrise, which kicked off the weekend. Lots of fun in the sun on the water and with family. Photos say it all.

We had to wake up my aunt and uncle, but it seemed a small price to pay to be there ; )

We had to wake up my aunt and uncle, but it seemed a small price to pay to be there early ; )

Sunrise over the Mission Mountains

Sunrise over the Mission Mountains

All sorts of water toys were available for us to enjoy

All sorts of water toys were available for us to enjoy

The boys on their first sailboat ride

The boys on their first sailboat ride

Me on my first sailboat ride

Me on my first sailboat ride

And the boys' first motor boat ride

And the boys' first motor boat ride

Someone's all smiles

Someone's all smiles

Okay, everyone's all smiles

Okay, everyone's all smiles

And kisses

And kisses

One of the few times I got to see Syd that weekend as she was off with her cousins the whole time

One of the few times I got to see Syd over the weekend as she was off with her cousins the entire time

09-6709-7109-69

But who says you need watercraft to enjoy the lake? (not me)

But who says you need watercraft to enjoy the lake? (not me)

Playing with mud is pretty enjoyable, too

Playing with mud is pretty enjoyable, too

As is skippin' rocks... my favorite pastime on my favorite island (Wildhorse)

As is skippin' rocks... my favorite pastime on my favorite island (Wildhorse)

A waxing moon rising over Flathead Lake

A waxing moon rising over Flathead Lake

A great weekend, but we had to say goodbye to Syd for over a month(!) as she went to spend time in Idaho Falls with her Grandma

A great weekend, but we had to say goodbye to Syd for over a month(!) as she went to spend time in Idaho Falls with her Grandma

About this entry