Rocky Mountain High

We didn’t make it to Moab like I mentioned in my last post. Didn’t make it to the pueblo, or to Mesa Verde, either. We skipped the pueblo because it doesn’t open to the public until this Saturday, but didn’t make it to our planned destination because we slow-poked our way through the small towns in northern New Mexico and southern Colorado.

Lupe hand dying Churro wool.

Lupe hand dying Churro wool.

Driving through New Mexico, we saw a sign for Tierra Wools and decided to stop. After driving through what looked like a ghost town and wondering if we made the right decision to pause along our journey, we made it to the shop and were delighted to find a small cooperative of (mostly) women who spin, dye and weave their own organic wool. Kay, Nancy, and Lupe took us on a tour through their shop and I haven’t seen Grace so in heaven.

Yarn drying

Yarn drying

And then we crossed into Colorado, and I don’t think I’ve ever felt more at home on a trip. Grace and I have been having this ongoing conversation about where we could live, and I’ve been pretty stubborn on my stance on staying in Cascadia because it’s the landscape I’ve grown up with – it’s as much a part of me as my physical body. Grace adamantly disagrees because through all her travels she’s found varied communities that she’s comfortable with. Traveling through Colorado has made me eat crow a little bit. The mountains here speak to the Montana boy in me, and I’m much less on edge when we come across monster trucks with rifles hanging in the back window (maybe because there is an actual need for trucks and guns here). But mostly I think it’s because of the water. We rarely crossed a river coming up through Texas and New Mexico, and those that we did were bone dry. In Colorado, however, there has been a creek or stream or river winding along beside us wherever we’ve gone. It’s had me re-assessing my stubborn stance on Cascadia only.

So today we head to Mesa Verde and then on to Moab, where we’re staying along the Colorado River and I’ve got plans to do some mountain biking while Grace gets in a different sort of saddle to do some horseback riding.

Lots and lots and lots of pictures to come, I’m sure.

About this entry